Reflection of Summer Writing

After finishing my summer reading project as a whole, I am proud of my work. The two books I had chosen to read were The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Catcher in the Rye. I had previously read both books, and when I reread them again this summer, I found that my understanding of both books deepened and it was a nice refresher since I had enjoyed reading the books the first time around. Writing my essay and making my artwork forced to really analyze Charlie and Holden as characters and really find connections between the books. Time was a bit of an issue for me, but I managed to complete everything on time, losing just a few hours of sleep. The next time around, I will definitely try and space my time out a little better. My biggest regret was how I had underestimated the difficulty of the essay and started pretty late. The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Catcher in the Rye are both books that I thoroughly enjoy. The Perks of Being a Wallflower especially is a book that for a while, it was my favorite book. The Catcher in the Rye was a little harder to understand, but the more I had thought about it, the more it made sense. I’m also glad we were able to discuss the books with other people since it helped immensely with formulating and refining my ideas. Overall, I am happy with how this project turned out and look forward to the next!

Leave a comment